## WATTSBURG AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF EDUCATION

Organizational Meeting • December 5, 2016

The Board Organization meeting of the Wattsburg Area School District Board of Education was held on December 5, 2016, at the Wattsburg Area Elementary Center.

President Andy Pushchak called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. The following members were in attendance: Mr. Eric Duda, Dr. Bill Hallock, Mrs. Nancy McNally, Mr. Josh Paris, Mr. Marty Pushchak, Mrs. Brenda Sandberg, Mr. Aaron Snippert, Mrs. Amanda Thayer-Zacks and Dr. Andy Pushchak. Also in attendance were Mr. Kenneth Berlin, Superintendent; Mrs. Leslie Hutchinson, Assistant to the Superintendent, and Mrs. Vicki Bendig, Business Administrator.

**Roll Call** 

No visitors requested to address the board

Motion by Mr. Snippert, seconded by Mrs. Sandberg to approve the agenda as presented. Motion was approved by a voice vote with no opposition. Motion carried.

**Visitor Comments** 

Agenda

Motion by Dr. Hallock, seconded by Mrs. Sandberg to nominate Mr. Marty Pushchak as temporary president, Mr. Duda motioned the nominations be closed, seconded by Mrs. Sandberg. In a voice vote, all members voted "Yes" and Mr. Pushchak was elected the temporary president.

Election of Temporary President

Motion by Mrs. Sandberg, seconded by Dr. Hallock to nominate Dr. Pushchak as permanent president. There being no further nominations, Dr. Hallock motioned that nominations be closed, seconded by Mr. Duda. In a recorded roll call vote the following members voted "Yes: Mrs. Sandberg, Mr. Snippert, Mrs. Thayer-Zack, Mr. Duda, Dr. Hallock, Mrs. McNally, Mr. Paris, Mr. Pushchak and Dr. Pushchak. Dr. Pushchak was elected permanent president.

**Election of Permanent President** 

Dr. Pushchak assumed his role of president.

Mr. Pushchak nominated Mrs. Sandberg as permanent vice-president seconded by Mr. Duda. There being no further nominations, motion by Mr. Duda to close nominations. In a recorded roll call vote the following members voted "Yes": Mr. Pushchak, Mrs. Sandberg, Mr. Snippert, Mrs. Thayer-Zacks, Mr. Duda, Dr. Hallock, Mrs. McNally, Mr. Paris, and Dr. Pushchak. Mrs. Sandberg was elected permanent vice-president.

Election of Permanent Vice-President

Motion by Mrs. Sandberg, seconded by Mr. Snippert that Wattsburg Area School District Board of Directors hold the monthly meeting and the monthly Work Session from December 2016 through November 2017 at the Wattsburg Area School District Elementary Center unless otherwise determined. That the monthly work session be held on the SECOND Monday of each month and the regular monthly meetings be held the THIRD Monday of each month. These meetings shall begin at 7:00 p.m. local time and the committee meetings be held any Monday as requested by the committee chairperson at a time and place designated by the President of the Board and the Organization Meeting be held Monday, December 4, 2017, 7:00 p.m. at the Wattsburg Area School

Setting of Date, Time and Place of Regular Meetings, Work Sessions, and Committee Meetings District Elementary Center unless otherwise determined with a special board meeting immediately following if necessary. Motion was approved by a voice vote with no opposition. Motion carried.

Motion by Mr. Snippert seconded by Mrs. Sandberg to appoint Aaron Snippert as Assistant Board Secretary for the WASD beginning December 12, 2016 through the next School Board Reorganization Meeting on December 4, 2017. Motion was approved by a voice vote with no opposition. Motion carried.

Appointment of Assistant Board Secretary

Motion by Mrs. Sandberg, seconded by Dr. Hallock to appoint the Erie County Tax Claim Commission (TCC) delegates as follows:

**Erie County Tax Claim Commission Delegates** 

- Primary voting delegate: Vicki Bendig
- First alternate voting delegate: Marty Pushchak
- Second alternate voting delegate: Eric Duda

Motion was approved by a voice vote with no opposition. Motion carried.

Motion by Mr. Pushchak, seconded by Mrs. McNally to appoint Debra Nuhfer as Board Recording Secretary for the WASD beginning December 12, 2016 through the next School Board Reorganization Meeting on December 4, 2017. Motion was approved by a voice vote with no opposition. Motion carried.

Appointment of Board Recording Secretary

There being no further business before the Board, upon motion by Dr. Hallock, seconded by Mr. Snippert the meeting was adjourned at 7:06 p.m.

Adjournment

Signature on File Vicki Bendig School Board Secretary